CWS chickpeas roundup

Thanks everyone for supporting this CWS event and thanks to Priya too for letting me host this event. I have enclosed every entries that has been sent in my inbox, if for any reason some entries are left out, do let me know, I will update it soon. Enjoy the delicious roundup with so many varied chickpeas dishes.

1)Gayathri Kumar from Gayathri’s Cook Spot :
a) Palak Kofta Curry http://gayathriscookspot.blogspot.com/2012/01/palak-kofta-curry-spinach-and-chick.html
b) Chole Paneer Chaat http://gayathriscookspot.blogspot.com/2012/01/chole-paneer-chaat.html
 

2) Aparna from Square Meals : Falafel  http://squaremeals.blogspot.com/2011/08/falafel.html


3) Rajitha from Telugu Foodies : Chickpeas/Garbanzo beans pulao www.telugufoodies.com/2011/07/chickpeas-garbanzo-beans-pulao.html

4) Mythreyi from Yum! Yum! Yum! : Hummus (Homemade) http://yummyodds.blogspot.com/2012/01/hummus-homemade.html

5) Sidra Amjed  from My Passion for Cooking :Sweet and Sour Chickpeas (Khatti Meethi Chaat) http://sidra-amjed.blogspot.com/2011/09/khatti-meethi-chaat.html

6) Deepika from  My life & Spice : Chana Masala

http://mylifeandspice.blogspot.com/2011/08/daily-dinner-9-festive-thali-and-chana.html



7) Sonali from Only Fish Recipes : Fish Upma http://onlyfishrecipes.blogspot.com/2012/01/fish-upma.html

fish upma

8 ) Kalyani from Sizzling Tastebuds : Baked Potato Chickpea soup  : http://itsnotmadrasi.blogspot.com/2012/01/baked-potato-chickpea-soup.html

9) Harini from Tamalapaku : Kabuli Chana Fry ~ Garbanzo Beans Fry http://tamalapaku.blogspot.com/2012/01/kabuli-chana-fry-garbanzo-beans-fry.html

10) Nisha from Nishaskitchen:

a)Chickpeas Pulao http://nishaskitchen2011.blogspot.com/2012/01/chickpeas-pulao.html

b)Chickpeas Bajji http://nishaskitchen2011.blogspot.com/2012/01/chickpeas-bajji.html

11) Anusha Praveen from tomatoblues : subz pulao http://www.tomatoblues.com/2012/01/subz-polo-iranian-pampering.html

12)Saraniya palaniswamy from saraniyapt

a) channa dhal cutlet http://saraniyapt.blogspot.com/2011/12/chana-bengalgram-dhal-cutlet.html

b) brinjal n channa gravy http://saraniyapt.blogspot.com/2011/12/brinjal-n-channa-gravy.html

13) Raji from Vegetarian Tastebuds: Sweet Cinnamon Roasted Chickpeas http://vegetariantastebuds.blogspot.com/2012/01/sweet-cinnamon-roasted-chickpeas.html

14)    Archana from The Mad Scientist’s Kitchen: Kadli/Harbara Chat http://madscientistskitchen.blogspot.com/2012/01/w-e-had-been-on-vacation-tomahableshwar.html

15) Nupur from UK Rasoi : Chhole Masala http://uk-rasoi.blogspot.com/2011/09/simple-chickpea-curry-chhole-masala.html

16) Harini Shrinivas from Sugar ‘n’ Spice : Bread Channa http://hariniscorner.blogspot.com/2010/11/bread-channa.html

Channa Masala http://hariniscorner.blogspot.com/2010/11/channa-masala.html

Chickpeas couscous http://hariniscorner.blogspot.com/2012/01/vegetable-chickpeas-cous-cous.html

 

 17) Rasya Srinath from rascookbook : Chickpea Green Soup http://rascookbook.blogspot.com/2012/01/chickpea-green-soup.html

18) Surbhi from Simmer and spice : chickpeas and yogurt raita http://www.simmer-and-spice.com/2012/01/chickpeas-and-yogurt-raita.html

19)Priya from Priya’s Easy N Tasty Recipes :

a) Chickpeas & Spinach Masal Vada http://priyaeasyntastyrecipes.blogspot.com/2012/01/chickpeas-spinach-masal-vada.html

b) Bottlegourd,Chickpeas & Sesame Rice http://priyaeasyntastyrecipes.blogspot.com/2012/01/bottlegourdchickpeas-sesame-rice.html

c) Steamed Chickpeas & Methi Dumplings Kurma http://priyaeasyntastyrecipes.blogspot.com/2012/01/steamed-chickpeas-methi-dumplings-kurma.html

d) Broccoli & Chickpeas Clear Soup http://priyaeasyntastyrecipes.blogspot.com/2012/01/bottlegourd-chickpeas-in-yogurt-gravy.html

e) Bottlegourd & Chickpeas in Yogurt Gravy http://priyaeasyntastyrecipes.blogspot.com/2012/01/broccoli-chickpeas-clear-soup.html

f) Paneer & Chickpeas Pulao : http://priyaeasyntastyrecipes.blogspot.com/2012/01/paneer-chickpeas-pulao.html


20) Chandrani Banerjee from Cuisine Delights : Chickpeas Curry Kerala Style http://cuisinedelights.blogspot.com /2012/01/chickpeas-currykerala-style.html

21) Princy from Spicyfoods: Chickpea pasta salad http://spicyfoood.blogspot.com/2011/08/chickpea-pasta-salad.html

22) Swetha from: Our Cherished World : White Chickpea Sundal http://our-cherished-world.blogspot.com/2012/01/white-chickpea-sundal-quick-snack.html

23) Hema from Aromatic Cooking Chana Thakkali : http://www.aromatic-cooking.blogspot.com/2012/01/chana-thakkali-kuzhambu.html

24) Sravani  from Srav’s Culinary Concepts : http://sravscc.blogspot.com/2012/01/chole-puffs-channa-puffs.html

25) From our own saffronstreaks kitchen for Chickpea event – we present

Moroccon spiced chickpea soup and Hummus in different flavours

chickpea soup bell pepper hummus

 

26) Mariyam Siddiqa has e mailed us this yummy and healthy Manglorean recipe

KADLE PODICURRY

This is a popular mangalorean dish. This is served with rice gruel.

Recipe: Kadle podicurry or Chickpea curry in Manglorean style

Summary: This is a popular Manglorean dish .

Ingredients

  • 1 cup kabuli chana , soaked overnight
  • 1/4 small onion, sliced
  • 1/4 small tomato
  • salt to taste
  • for paste:
  • 2 cups dry red chilli ( byadgi) , washed and soaked in luke warm water for an hour
  • 2 whole walnut sized tamarind
  • 1 big whole head garlic
  • turmeric 1/2 tsp
  • 2-3 tsp salt (this preserves the paste)
  • 1 tbsp saunf
  • 1 tbsp coriander seeds
  • Grind all these together to a fine paste adding enough chilli soaked water. keep referigerated in airtight container. Can prepare many recipes using this paste .
  • for seasoning:
  • oil 1 tbsp
  • mustard seeds 1 tsp
  • couple of cloves garlic, bruised
  • hing a pinch
  • curry leaves , few

Instructions

  1. To a cooker add drained chana, onion , tomato, salt and enough water to cook.
  2. And pressure cook till softens nicely , this may take about 1 whistle and 30 mins in sim.
  3. Then add 1-2tbsp (to taste) above paste and boil for sometime till it starts to thicken.
  4. Heat oil add garlic, mustard after it splutters add hing and curry leaves and pour on above and cover immediately keep aside for 5 mins to trap the flavours.
  5. Serve it with rice gruel or chapathi or pathr ( mangalorean rice roti) , etc.

Culinary tradition: Indian (Southern)

 

Thank you so much Mariyam for sharing these lovely recipe.